Re: Deleted messages in these newsgroups
- Date: Wed, 29 Nov 2017 09:24:02 -0500
- From: Wolf K <wolfmac@xxxxxxxxxxxx>
- Subject: Re: Deleted messages in these newsgroups
On 2017-11-29 08:57, Sailfish wrote:
My bloviated meandering follows what Balaco graced us with on 11/28/2017
I discovered that I can delete *any* newsgroup messages with Thunderbird.
When I delete my own messages, are they deleted for other users as
well? It eventually happens that sometimes I write things that I only
see wrong or not so good after sometime. In fora, I would edit them.
In a newsgroup, if anyone did not yet replied, the best to do is an
answer to myself pointing the problem or re-saying everything. Of
course undoing things for who read through mailing lists will not
exist unless the "make post" + "mirroring to the respective mailing
list" actions wait some time to happen.
Only moderators can delete posts from their servers. Also, google groups
also save newsgroups posts, see
Aha! Clarification widens.
Inference: "Cancel" is a fossil left over from the early days of Usenet.
Usenet was IIRC an integration (and standardisation) of individually
operated BBS's, many of which did allow people to cancel messages.
"Wanted. Schrödinger’s Cat. Dead and Alive."
general mailing list