Web lists-archives.com

[PATCH AUTOSEL 5.1 071/186] mips: Make sure dt memory regions are valid




From: Serge Semin <fancer.lancer@xxxxxxxxx>

[ Upstream commit 93fa5b280761a4dbb14c5330f260380385ab2b49 ]

There are situations when memory regions coming from dts may be
too big for the platform physical address space. This especially
concerns XPA-capable systems. Bootloader may determine more than 4GB
memory available and pass it to the kernel over dts memory node, while
kernel is built without XPA/64BIT support. In this case the region
may either simply be truncated by add_memory_region() method
or by u64->phys_addr_t type casting. But in worst case the method
can even drop the memory region if it exceeds PHYS_ADDR_MAX size.
So lets make sure the retrieved from dts memory regions are valid,
and if some of them aren't, just manually truncate them with a warning
printed out.

Signed-off-by: Serge Semin <fancer.lancer@xxxxxxxxx>
Signed-off-by: Paul Burton <paul.burton@xxxxxxxx>
Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: James Hogan <jhogan@xxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@xxxxxxxx>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Thomas Bogendoerfer <tbogendoerfer@xxxxxxx>
Cc: Huacai Chen <chenhc@xxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Stefan Agner <stefan@xxxxxxxx>
Cc: Stephen Rothwell <sfr@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Alexandre Belloni <alexandre.belloni@xxxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@xxxxxxxx>
Cc: Serge Semin <Sergey.Semin@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: linux-mips@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Cc: linux-kernel@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@xxxxxxxxxx>
---
 arch/mips/kernel/prom.c | 14 +++++++++++++-
 1 file changed, 13 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/arch/mips/kernel/prom.c b/arch/mips/kernel/prom.c
index 93b8e0b4332f7..b9d6c6ec41778 100644
--- a/arch/mips/kernel/prom.c
+++ b/arch/mips/kernel/prom.c
@@ -41,7 +41,19 @@ char *mips_get_machine_name(void)
 #ifdef CONFIG_USE_OF
 void __init early_init_dt_add_memory_arch(u64 base, u64 size)
 {
-	return add_memory_region(base, size, BOOT_MEM_RAM);
+	if (base >= PHYS_ADDR_MAX) {
+		pr_warn("Trying to add an invalid memory region, skipped\n");
+		return;
+	}
+
+	/* Truncate the passed memory region instead of type casting */
+	if (base + size - 1 >= PHYS_ADDR_MAX || base + size < base) {
+		pr_warn("Truncate memory region %llx @ %llx to size %llx\n",
+			size, base, PHYS_ADDR_MAX - base);
+		size = PHYS_ADDR_MAX - base;
+	}
+
+	add_memory_region(base, size, BOOT_MEM_RAM);
 }
 
 int __init early_init_dt_reserve_memory_arch(phys_addr_t base,
-- 
2.20.1