Web lists-archives.com

[RFC PATCH 23/23] watchdog/hardlockup: Activate the HPET-based lockup detector




Now that the implementation of the HPET-based hardlockup detector is
complete, enable it. It will be used only if it can be initialized
successfully. Otherwise, the perf-based detector will be used.

Cc: Ashok Raj <ashok.raj@xxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Andi Kleen <andi.kleen@xxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@xxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@xxxxxxx>
Cc: Jacob Pan <jacob.jun.pan@xxxxxxxxx>
Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael.j.wysocki@xxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Don Zickus <dzickus@xxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@xxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <frederic@xxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Alexei Starovoitov <ast@xxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Babu Moger <babu.moger@xxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@xxxxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@xxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Philippe Ombredanne <pombredanne@xxxxxxxx>
Cc: Colin Ian King <colin.king@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Byungchul Park <byungchul.park@xxxxxxx>
Cc: "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: "Luis R. Rodriguez" <mcgrof@xxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Waiman Long <longman@xxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@xxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Davidlohr Bueso <dave@xxxxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Christoffer Dall <cdall@xxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@xxxxxxx>
Cc: Kai-Heng Feng <kai.heng.feng@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@xxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@xxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: "Ravi V. Shankar" <ravi.v.shankar@xxxxxxxxx>
Cc: x86@xxxxxxxxxx
Cc: iommu@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Signed-off-by: Ricardo Neri <ricardo.neri-calderon@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
---
 kernel/watchdog.c | 15 +++++++++++++++
 1 file changed, 15 insertions(+)

diff --git a/kernel/watchdog.c b/kernel/watchdog.c
index b5ce6e4..e2cc6c0 100644
--- a/kernel/watchdog.c
+++ b/kernel/watchdog.c
@@ -149,6 +149,21 @@ int __weak __init watchdog_nmi_probe(void)
 {
 	int ret = -ENODEV;
 
+	/*
+	 * Try first with the HPET hardlockup detector. It will only
+	 * succeed if selected at build time and the nmi_watchdog
+	 * command-line parameter is configured. This ensure that the
+	 * perf-based detector is used by default, if selected at
+	 * build time.
+	 */
+	if (IS_ENABLED(CONFIG_HARDLOCKUP_DETECTOR_HPET))
+		ret = hardlockup_detector_hpet_ops.init();
+
+	if (!ret) {
+		nmi_wd_ops = &hardlockup_detector_hpet_ops;
+		return ret;
+	}
+
 	if (IS_ENABLED(CONFIG_HARDLOCKUP_DETECTOR_PERF))
 		ret = hardlockup_detector_perf_ops.init();
 
-- 
2.7.4