Web lists-archives.com

[PATCH 1/6] perf probe: Introduce util func is_sdt_event()




From: Ravi Bangoria <ravi.bangoria@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>

Factor out the SDT event name checking routine as is_sdt_event().

Signed-off-by: Ravi Bangoria <ravi.bangoria@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@xxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Ananth N Mavinakayanahalli <ananth@xxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Brendan Gregg <brendan.d.gregg@xxxxxxxxx>
Cc: He Kuang <hekuang@xxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Hemant Kumar <hemant@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@xxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@xxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Mathieu Poirier <mathieu.poirier@xxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Naveen N. Rao <naveen.n.rao@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Sukadev Bhattiprolu <sukadev@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Taeung Song <treeze.taeung@xxxxxxxxx>
Cc: Wang Nan <wangnan0@xxxxxxxxxx>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20170314150658.7065-2-ravi.bangoria@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@xxxxxxxxxx>
---
 tools/perf/util/parse-events.h | 20 ++++++++++++++++++++
 tools/perf/util/probe-event.c  |  9 +--------
 2 files changed, 21 insertions(+), 8 deletions(-)

diff --git a/tools/perf/util/parse-events.h b/tools/perf/util/parse-events.h
index 1af6a267c21b..8c72b0ff7fcb 100644
--- a/tools/perf/util/parse-events.h
+++ b/tools/perf/util/parse-events.h
@@ -8,6 +8,7 @@
 #include <stdbool.h>
 #include <linux/types.h>
 #include <linux/perf_event.h>
+#include <string.h>
 
 struct list_head;
 struct perf_evsel;
@@ -196,4 +197,23 @@ int is_valid_tracepoint(const char *event_string);
 int valid_event_mount(const char *eventfs);
 char *parse_events_formats_error_string(char *additional_terms);
 
+#ifdef HAVE_LIBELF_SUPPORT
+/*
+ * If the probe point starts with '%',
+ * or starts with "sdt_" and has a ':' but no '=',
+ * then it should be a SDT/cached probe point.
+ */
+static inline bool is_sdt_event(char *str)
+{
+	return (str[0] == '%' ||
+		(!strncmp(str, "sdt_", 4) &&
+		 !!strchr(str, ':') && !strchr(str, '=')));
+}
+#else
+static inline bool is_sdt_event(char *str __maybe_unused)
+{
+	return false;
+}
+#endif /* HAVE_LIBELF_SUPPORT */
+
 #endif /* __PERF_PARSE_EVENTS_H */
diff --git a/tools/perf/util/probe-event.c b/tools/perf/util/probe-event.c
index c9bdc9ded0c3..b19d17801beb 100644
--- a/tools/perf/util/probe-event.c
+++ b/tools/perf/util/probe-event.c
@@ -1341,14 +1341,7 @@ static int parse_perf_probe_point(char *arg, struct perf_probe_event *pev)
 	if (!arg)
 		return -EINVAL;
 
-	/*
-	 * If the probe point starts with '%',
-	 * or starts with "sdt_" and has a ':' but no '=',
-	 * then it should be a SDT/cached probe point.
-	 */
-	if (arg[0] == '%' ||
-	    (!strncmp(arg, "sdt_", 4) &&
-	     !!strchr(arg, ':') && !strchr(arg, '='))) {
+	if (is_sdt_event(arg)) {
 		pev->sdt = true;
 		if (arg[0] == '%')
 			arg++;
-- 
2.9.3