Web lists-archives.com

Re: Review Request 129605: Move the Baloo database into the XDG cache path.




This is an automatically generated e-mail. To reply, visit: https://git.reviewboard.kde.org/r/129605/

On February 4th, 2017, 7:59 p.m. CET, Albert Astals Cid wrote:

Any reason this has not been commited?

On February 4th, 2017, 8:04 p.m. CET, Luigi Toscano wrote:

Because there was no final decision.

It is true that the Baloo database can be regenerated, but I would say that if we avoid a complete rebuild of the database after a Frameworks update, that would be good.

Would it be better to read the old location if found and reserve the new one only for new database (or rebuilt) and switch to the new one for Frameworks 6?

On February 5th, 2017, 12:22 a.m. CET, James Smith wrote:

Regeneratable data isn't config, so this change isn't as important as the config location change between SC4 and KF5. The config data location switch was mandatory for KF5-based apps. I think we can safely switch regeneratable data at any time.

On February 5th, 2017, 12:29 a.m. CET, Luigi Toscano wrote:

Did you try it in practice? I'm talking about time and I/O which is not visibile in the normal usage because the full indexing already happened. Moreover the old index will be left there unused.

On February 5th, 2017, 2:53 a.m. CET, James Smith wrote:

A 64069 file reindex for me took ~58 mins. An update of eg. Calligra shouldn't be done when there is an immediate requirement to use Calligra, likewise an update of Baloo shouldn't be attempted when there is expected use of Baloo in the immediate future; don't fix it if it isn't broken. There has been a suggestion to group patches that require a reindex, thereby lessening any reindexing caused by upgrading Baloo.

The old index would be left there unused whether the patch is waited on for KF5's successor or otherwise.

On February 5th, 2017, 1:16 p.m. CET, Luigi Toscano wrote:

It does not work like that. Distributions like Fedora, Archlinux, or Gentoo, and also Debian unstable, upgrades the Frameworks packages frequently, so their users will be impacted.

It is more expected to have leftovers with a major upgrade, but nevertheless it would be good to have a migration.

So to summarize I think that: - the old location should be used if available, or - if a migration should be forced, the data should be moved (in an async way - is there anything that prevent that? Could it happen that they are on different drives?)

As a related fact, I have two pending review requests (#129839 and #129798) on KFileMetaData that may require reindexing audio files. Not sure there is a good way to do that but definitely related to Baloo migration issues.


- Matthieu


On December 12th, 2016, 12:06 p.m. CET, James Smith wrote:

Review request for Baloo and Vishesh Handa.
By James Smith.

Updated Dec. 12, 2016, 12:06 p.m.

Repository: baloo

Description

Move the database into the XDG cache path.

Testing

Compile, run.

Diffs

  • src/engine/global.cpp (4f511ac08f0fd18bd3c78b794f4ba7ccef88e75b)
  • src/tools/balooctl/main.cpp (2a6b175ee599d7ca713adcbed80d3bd128e9dd63)

View Diff