Web lists-archives.com

Advice setting for git rebase




When I perform a rebase and it stops at a commit due to a conflict,
the messages printed are very verbose. Example:

```
Applying: Delete run configuration for zPayServiceStandalone
Using index info to reconstruct a base tree...
A       .idea/runConfigurations/zPayServiceStandalone.xml
Falling back to patching base and 3-way merge...
CONFLICT (rename/delete):
.idea/runConfigurations/zPayServiceStandalone.xml deleted in Delete
run configuration for zPayServiceStandalone and renamed to
.idea/runConfigurations/MSRServiceStandalone.xml in HEAD. Version HEAD
of .idea/runConfigurations/MSRServiceStandalone.xml left in tree.
error: Failed to merge in the changes.
Patch failed at 0005 Delete run configuration for zPayServiceStandalone
Resolve all conflicts manually, mark them as resolved with
"git add/rm <conflicted_files>", then run "git rebase --continue".
You can instead skip this commit: run "git rebase --skip".
To abort and get back to the state before "git rebase", run "git
rebase --abort".
```

Basically everything after the "error: Failed to merge in the changes"
line should be hidden by an advice setting of some sort. However,
reviewing the config documentation shows that there is no such option,
or at least, none that I see. I pulled up the code base for Git and
saw that some of these strings come from rebase.c, and it is added as
a `--resolvemsg` option. But I don't see anything that tries to read a
config setting before pushing that argument.

Also if you attempt to `rebase --continue`, for example, instead of
`rebase --skip`, you get similar help messages from the `am.c` file:

```
Applying: Delete run configuration for zPayServiceStandalone
No changes - did you forget to use 'git add'?
If there is nothing left to stage, chances are that something else
already introduced the same changes; you might want to skip this patch.
Resolve all conflicts manually, mark them as resolved with
"git add/rm <conflicted_files>", then run "git rebase --continue".
You can instead skip this commit: run "git rebase --skip".
To abort and get back to the state before "git rebase", run "git
rebase --abort".
```

Again, I didn't see an option to disable this advice.

Can anyone confirm if there is a setting to disable this advice or
not? A lot of the underlying machinery is shared between commands it
seems, so there might be a setting that isn't straightforward. Adding
a setting for this seems relatively easy, so with some advice I might
be willing to contribute a patch. Let me know, and thank you.