Web lists-archives.com

wxWidgets GTK+ 3 build available




Hi,

Since ~March, we have a GTK+ 3 build of wxWidgets in Unstable/Testing. Packages that use wxWidgets may switch over to this build if they desire, although we are not pushing to remove the wx GTK+ 2 package in Buster, so packages can continue to use the GTK+ 2 build for Buster.

To switch a package over to the GTK+ 3 build, it could be as simple as changing the Build-Depends from libwxgtk3.0-dev to libwxgtk3.0-gtk3-dev, rebuilding, and testing.

A couple of known issues:
1) If your package uses wxSpinCtrl and hard-codes the widget size, or does not have additional horizonal space, the size may have to be adjusted. This is due to the underlying GtkSpinButton having switched to a wider layout in GTK+ 3.

2) If your package uses wxGLCanvas, it won't work under Wayland. This is due to wxGLCanvas (currently) requiring X11 to function. This can be worked around by forcing the GDK backend to X11. Here's one example of how this has been done: [1]

We have set up a tracker to track the progress of moving to the GTK+ 3 package here: [2]

Here is a dd-list output for the packages that build-depend on wxWidgets:

A. Maitland Bottoms <bottoms@xxxxxxxxxx>
   freedv (U)

Adrien Cunin <adri2000@xxxxxxxxxx>
   filezilla

Alastair McKinstry <mckinstry@xxxxxxxxxx>
   mathgl (U)

Alec Leamas <leamas.alec@xxxxxxxxx>
   wxsvg (U)

Alessio Treglia <alessio@xxxxxxxxxx>
   sooperlooper (U)

Alexander Kojevnikov <alexander@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   spek

Alexander Wirt <formorer@xxxxxxxxxx>
   icinga2 (U)

Andreas Bombe <aeb@xxxxxxxxxx>
   cubicsdr (U)
   limesuite (U)

Andreas Metzler <ametzler@xxxxxxxxxx>
   hugin (U)

Andreas Rönnquist <gusnan@xxxxxxxxxx>
   poedit (U)

Andreas Tille <tille@xxxxxxxxxx>
   ctsim (U)
   gentle (U)
   ginkgocadx (U)
   lamarc (U)
   sitplus (U)
   treeviewx (U)

Andrej Shadura <andrewsh@xxxxxxxxxx>
   wxhexeditor

Anthony F McInerney <afm404@xxxxxxxxx>
   sandboxgamemaker

Anton Gladky <gladk@xxxxxxxxxx>
   gnuplot (U)

Axel Beckert <abe@xxxxxxxxxx>
   gnudatalanguage (U)

Barak A. Pearlmutter <bap@xxxxxxxxxx>
   ucblogo

Barry deFreese <bdefreese@xxxxxxxxxx>
   plee-the-bear (U)

Bas Couwenberg <sebastic@xxxxxxxxxx>
   spatialite-gui (U)
   thuban (U)

Bas Wijnen <wijnen@xxxxxxxxxx>
   openmsx-catapult

Benjamin Drung <bdrung@xxxxxxxxxx>
   audacity (U)

Brandon Barnes <winterknight@xxxxxxxxx>
   dolphin-emu (U)

Bruno "Fuddl" Kleinert <fuddl@xxxxxxxxxx>
   scorched3d (U)

Carlo Segre <segre@xxxxxxxxxx>
   fityk (U)
   objcryst-fox

Carsten Schoenert <c.schoenert@xxxxxxxxxxx>
   kicad (U)

Charles Plessy <plessy@xxxxxxxxxx>
   treeviewx (U)

Chow Loong Jin <hyperair@xxxxxxxxxx>
   mediainfo

Christoph Berg <myon@xxxxxxxxxx>
   pgadmin3 (U)

Christoph Feenders <debian@xxxxxxxx>
   ebook2cwgui (U)

Colin Tuckley <colint@xxxxxxxxxx>
   trustedqsl (U)

D Haley <mycae@xxxxxxx>
   3depict (U)

Damyan Ivanov <dmn@xxxxxxxxxx>
   flamerobin

Daniel Echeverry <epsilon77@xxxxxxxxx>
   tintii

Daniel Leidert <dleidert@xxxxxxxxxx>
   openbabel (U)

David Henningsson <diwic@xxxxxxxxxx>
   audacity (U)

David Paleino <dapal@xxxxxxxxxx>
   codeblocks
   spatialite-gui (U)

Debian Accessibility Team <pkg-a11y-devel@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   espeakedit

Debian Astronomy Team <debian-astro-maintainers@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   gnudatalanguage
   munipack

Debian Electronics Team <pkg-electronics-devel@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   kicad

Debian Erlang Packagers <pkg-erlang-devel@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   erlang

Debian Games Team <pkg-games-devel@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   scorched3d

Debian Games Team <pkg-games-devel@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   0ad
   darkradiant
   dolphin-emu
   freedink-dfarc
   jugglemaster
   megaglest
   openyahtzee
   pcsx2
   plee-the-bear
   scummvm-tools
   springlobby

Debian GIS Project <pkg-grass-devel@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   saga
   spatialite-gui
   thuban

Debian Hamradio Maintainers <debian-hams@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   cubicsdr
   ebook2cwgui
   freedv
   limesuite
   trustedqsl

Debian l10n developers <debian-l10n-devel@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   poedit

Debian Med Packaging Team <debian-med-packaging@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   ctsim
   gentle
   ginkgocadx
   lamarc
   mriconvert
   sitplus
   treeviewx

Debian Multimedia Maintainers <debian-multimedia@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   audacity
   wxsvg

Debian Multimedia Maintainers <pkg-multimedia-maintainers@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   sooperlooper

Debian Nagios Maintainer Group <pkg-nagios-devel@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   icinga2

Debian PhotoTools Maintainers <pkg-phototools-devel@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   hugin

Debian PostgreSQL Maintainers <pkg-postgresql-public@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   pgadmin3

Debian Science Maintainers <debian-science-maintainers@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   3depict
   bossa
   cba
   fityk
   mathgl

Debian Science Team <debian-science-maintainers@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   gnuplot
   plplot
   wxastrocapture

Debichem Team <debichem-devel@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   openbabel
   qutemol

Denis Briand <debian@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   pgadmin3 (U)

Dimitrios Eftaxiopoulos <eftaxi12@xxxxxxxxx>
   mathgl (U)

Dmitry Smirnov <onlyjob@xxxxxxxxxx>
   freespace2-launcher-wxlauncher

Dr. Tobias Quathamer <toddy@xxxxxxxxxx>
   silverjuke

Ferdinand Griffon <idf.dresden@xxxxxxx>
   cba (U)

Filip Hroch <hroch@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   munipack (U)

Francesco Paolo Lovergine <frankie@xxxxxxxxxx>
   saga (U)
   thuban (U)

Franck Joncourt <franck.joncourt@xxxxxxxxx>
   fwknop-gui

Free Ekanayaka <freee@xxxxxxxxxx>
   audacity (U)

Georges Khaznadar <georgesk@xxxxxxxxxx>
   kicad (U)

Gert Wollny <gewo@xxxxxxxxxx>
   ginkgocadx (U)

Gianfranco Costamagna <locutusofborg@xxxxxxxxxx>
   poedit (U)

Gonéri Le Bouder <goneri@xxxxxxxxxxxx>
   plee-the-bear (U)

Graham Inggs <ginggs@xxxxxxxxxx>
   qutemol (U)

Gudjon I. Gudjonsson <gudjon@xxxxxxxxxx>
   gspiceui

Gunter Königsmann <wxmaxima@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   wxmaxima

Helmut Grohne <helmut@xxxxxxxxxx>
   jugglemaster (U)

Jaime Robles <jaime@xxxxxxxxxx>
   trustedqsl (U)

James Cowgill <jcowgill@xxxxxxxxxx>
   codelite
   dolphin-emu (U)

Jan Wagner <waja@xxxxxxxxxxx>
   icinga2 (U)

Jaromír Mikeš <mira.mikes@xxxxxxxxx>
   audacity (U)
   sooperlooper (U)

Jerry Stueve <k4int@xxxxxxxx>
   trustedqsl (U)

Johan Van de Wauw <johan@xxxxxxxxxxxx>
   saga (U)

Jose G. López <josgalo@xxxxxxxxx>
   pgn2web

José Luis Blanco Claraco <joseluisblancoc@xxxxxxxxx>
   mrpt

Julien Jorge <julien.jorge@xxxxxxxxxx>
   plee-the-bear (U)

Kamal Mostafa <kamal@xxxxxxxxxx>
   ebook2cwgui (U)
   trustedqsl (U)

Kartik Mistry <kartik@xxxxxxxxxx>
   xchm

Kevin M. Rosenberg <kmr@xxxxxxxxxx>
   ctsim (U)

Laszlo Boszormenyi (GCS) <gcs@xxxxxxxxxx>
   delaboratory
   wxsqlite3

Ludovic Rousseau <rousseau@xxxxxxxxxx>
   0ad (U)

Luis Rivas Vañó <luinix@xxxxxxxxx>
   sitplus (U)

Luke Faraone <lfaraone@xxxxxxxxxx>
   chipw

Mark Vejvoda <mark_vejvoda@xxxxxxxxxxx>
   megaglest (U)

Markus Frosch <lazyfrosch@xxxxxxxxxx>
   icinga2 (U)

Markus Koschany <apo@xxxxxxxxxx>
   megaglest (U)
   openyahtzee (U)
   springlobby (U)

Michael Banck <mbanck@xxxxxxxxxx>
   openbabel (U)
   qutemol (U)

Michael Casadevall <sonicmctails@xxxxxxxxx>
   codeblocks (U)

Miguel A. Colón Vélez <debian.micove@xxxxxxxxx>
   pcsx2 (U)

Miriam Ruiz <miriam@xxxxxxxxxx>
   xmlcopyeditor

Morten Kjeldgaard <mok0@xxxxxxxxxx>
   qutemol (U)

NIIBE Yutaka <gniibe@xxxxxxxx>
   golly

Ole Streicher <olebole@xxxxxxxxxx>
   gnudatalanguage (U)
   plplot (U)

Patrick Ouellette <pouelle@xxxxxxxxxx>
   trustedqsl (U)

Paul Elliott <pelliott@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   maitreya

Phil Morrell <debian@xxxxxxxxxxxx>
   scorched3d (U)

Reinhard Tartler <siretart@xxxxxxxxxx>
   scorched3d (U)

Richard B Winters <rik@xxxxxxxxx>
   rapidsvn

Samuel Thibault <sthibault@xxxxxxxxxx>
   espeakedit (U)

Sandro Tosi <morph@xxxxxxxxxx>
   amule

Scott Howard <showard@xxxxxxxxxx>
   bossa (U)

Sebastian Reichel <sre@xxxxxxxxxx>
   aegisub

Sergei Golovan <sgolovan@xxxxxxxxxx>
   erlang (U)

Steffen Moeller <moeller@xxxxxxxxxx>
   gentle (U)
   wxastrocapture (U)

Stephen Kitt <skitt@xxxxxxxxxx>
   bochs
   scummvm-tools (U)

Steve M. Robbins <smr@xxxxxxxxxx>
   mriconvert (U)

Stuart Prescott <stuart@xxxxxxxxxx>
   fityk (U)

Sylvain Beucler <beuc@xxxxxxxxxx>
   freedink-dfarc (U)

Thorsten Alteholz <debian@xxxxxxxxxxx>
   ginkgocadx (U)

Tobias Frost <tobi@xxxxxxxxxx>
   darkradiant (U)

Uwe Hermann <uwe@xxxxxxxxxx>
   usbprog

Vincent Cheng <vcheng@xxxxxxxxxx>
   0ad (U)
   codeblocks (U)

William Blough <bblough@xxxxxxxxxx>
   passwordsafe

Ximin Luo <infinity0@xxxxxxxxxx>
   treesheets

Yury Stankevich <urykhy@xxxxxxxxx>
   stx-btree

Thanks,
Scott

[1] https://github.com/ojwb/survex/commit/96c239c4b2996f8efd161403fc8c223f97a288e8
[2] https://release.debian.org/transitions/html/wxwidgets3.0-gtk3.html