Web lists-archives.com

Removal of upstart integration




upstart - event-based init daemon has been removed from debian and is
currently only present in oldstable.

Many packages however still ship upstart integration. Please consider
removing /etc/init/* conffiles from your packages. Do note, that
typically this will require a debian/pkg.maintscript snippet to
rm_conffile these files.

For straight forwarded cases where simply debian/*.upstart files
exist, this can be resolved using this script:

---- 8< ----
#!/bin/bash
set -e
set -x
drop_upstart() {
    ver=$1
    pkg=$2
    job=$2
    if [ -n "$4" ]
    then
          job=$3
    fi
    echo "rm_conffile /etc/init/$job.conf $ver~ $pkg" >> $pkg.maintscript
}
dch -i 'Drop upstart system jobs.'
ver=$(parsechangelog | sed -n 's/Version: //p')
pushd debian
for f in *.upstart
do
    drop_upstart $ver $(echo $f | sed 's/\./ /g')
    rm $f
done
popd
---- 8< ----

or something similar.

Please test that /etc/init/* jobs are not shipped by the new package
and are removed from disk upon upgrades.

dd-list of packages shipping etc/init files:

Adnan Hodzic <adnan@xxxxxxxxxx>
   lxcfs (U)

Adrian Vondendriesch <adrian.vondendriesch@xxxxxxxxxxx>
   corosync (U)

Andreas Tille <andreas@xxxxxxxx>
   manila (U)

Andriy Senkovych <jolly_roger@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   salt (U)

Anibal Monsalve Salazar <anibal@xxxxxxxxxx>
   conmux
   irqbalance
   rpcbind

Antonio Radici <antonio@xxxxxxxx>
   anacron (U)

Apollon Oikonomopoulos <apoikos@xxxxxxxxxx>
   mongodb (U)

Aron Xu <aron@xxxxxxxxxx>
   bumblebee (U)

Axel Beckert <abe@xxxxxxxxxx>
   aptitude-robot (U)

Balint Reczey <rbalint@xxxxxxxxxx>
   forked-daapd (U)

Benjamin Drung <benjamin.drung@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   salt (U)

Bernd Zeimetz <bzed@xxxxxxxxxx>
   carbon-c-relay (U)
   mod-gearman

Chris Boot <bootc@xxxxxxxxxx>
   ulogd2

Christoph Berg <myon@xxxxxxxxxx>
   corosync (U)

Clint Byrum <clint@xxxxxxxxxx>
   mysql-5.7 (U)

Colin King <colin.king@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   thermald

Corey Bryant <corey.bryant@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   murano (U)
   python-oslo.messaging (U)

Dara Adib <daradib@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   sidedoor

Dariusz Dwornikowski <dariusz.dwornikowski@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   ryu (U)

David Della Vecchia <ddv@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   python-oslo.messaging (U)

David Douard <david.douard@xxxxxxxxxx>
   circus

Debian Cryptsetup Team <pkg-cryptsetup-devel@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   cryptsetup

Debian DNS Packaging <pkg-dns-devel@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   nsd

Debian FreeIPA Team <pkg-freeipa-devel@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   certmonger

Debian FreeRADIUS Packaging Team
<pkg-freeradius-maintainers@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   freeradius

Debian Go Packaging Team <pkg-go-maintainers@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   golang-github-hashicorp-serf
   rawdns

Debian HA Maintainers <debian-ha-maintainers@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   corosync

Debian Java Maintainers <pkg-java-maintainers@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   zookeeper

Debian MongoDB Maintainers <pkg-mongodb-maintainers@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   mongodb

Debian Multimedia Maintainers
<pkg-multimedia-maintainers@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   forked-daapd

Debian MySQL Maintainers <pkg-mysql-maint@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   mysql-5.7

Debian NVIDIA Maintainers <pkg-nvidia-devel@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   bumblebee

Debian Perl Group <pkg-perl-maintainers@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   lemonldap-ng

Debian PHP Maintainers <pkg-php-maint@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   php7.0
   php7.1

Debian QA Group <packages@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   fwknop

Debian Salt Team <pkg-salt-team@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   salt

Debian sysvinit maintainers <pkg-sysvinit-devel@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   startpar

Debian/Kubuntu Qt/KDE Maintainers <debian-qt-kde@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   sddm

Dmitry Smirnov <onlyjob@xxxxxxxxxx>
   docker-registry (U)

Docker Packaging Team <docker-maint@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   docker.io (U)

Elmar S. Heeb <elmar@xxxxxxxx>
   aptitude-robot

Evgeni Golov <evgeni@xxxxxxxxxx>
   lxcfs (U)

Ferenc Wágner <wferi@xxxxxxxxxx>
   corosync (U)

Filippo Giunchedi <filippo@xxxxxxxxxx>
   carbon-c-relay

Franklin G Mendoza <franklin.g.mendoza@xxxxxxxxx>
   salt (U)

Frédéric Bonnard <frediz@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   rear

Guido Guenther <agx@xxxxxxxxxxx>
   lbcd (U)

Guilhem Moulin <guilhem@xxxxxxxxxxx>
   cryptsetup (U)

gustavo panizzo <gfa@xxxxxxxxxxxx>
   nova (U)

Gustavo Panizzo <gfa@xxxxxxxxxxxx>
   neutron (U)

Guus Sliepen <guus@xxxxxxxxxx>
   ifupdown

Henrique de Moraes Holschuh <hmh@xxxxxxxxxx>
   startpar (U)

Holger Levsen <holger@xxxxxxxxxx>
   munin (U)

Ivan Udovichenko <iudovichenko@xxxxxxxxxxxx>
   glare (U)
   murano (U)
   neutron (U)

James McCoy <jamessan@xxxxxxxxxx>
   serf

James Page <james.page@xxxxxxxxxx>
   networking-l2gw (U)
   python-oslo.messaging (U)
   zookeeper (U)

James Page <jamespage@xxxxxxxxxx>
   mysql-5.7 (U)

Jens Peter Secher <jps@xxxxxxxxxx>
   slim (U)

Joe Healy <joehealy@xxxxxxxxx>
   salt (U)

Jon Bernard <jbernard@xxxxxxxxxx>
   ltt-control

Jonas Meurer <mejo@xxxxxxxxxx>
   cryptsetup (U)

Josip Rodin <joy-packages@xxxxxxxxxx>
   freeradius (U)

Jérémy Lal <kapouer@xxxxxxxxx>
   mongodb (U)

Jörg Frings-Fürst <debian@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   bitz-server
   downtimed

Kel Modderman <kel@xxxxxxxxxx>
   startpar (U)

Kouhei Maeda <mkouhei@xxxxxxxxxx>
   yrmcds

Lars Tangvald <lars.tangvald@xxxxxxxxxx>
   mysql-5.7 (U)

Laszlo Boszormenyi (GCS) <gcs@xxxxxxxxxx>
   mongodb (U)
   ovirt-guest-agent
   paxctld
   syslog-ng (U)

Lenny Verkhovsky <lennyb@xxxxxxxxxxxx>
   networking-mlnx (U)

Leo Costela <costela@xxxxxxxxxx>
   transmission (U)

Lior Kaplan <kaplan@xxxxxxxxxx>
   php7.0 (U)
   php7.1 (U)

Louis Bouchard <louis.bouchard@xxxxxxxxxx>
   makedumpfile

LTSP Debian Maintainers <pkg-ltsp-devel@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   ltsp

Luca Boccassi <luca.boccassi@xxxxxxxxx>
   bumblebee (U)

Malihe Asemani <ml.asemani@xxxxxxxxx>
   manila (U)

Marco Nenciarini <mnencia@xxxxxxxxxx>
   resolvconf (U)

Mark Hymers <mhy@xxxxxxxxxx>
   freeradius (U)

Mateusz Łukasik <mati75@xxxxxxxxxxxx>
   slim (U)

Maximiliano Curia <maxy@xxxxxxxxxx>
   sddm (U)

Michael Jeanson <mjeanson@xxxxxxxxxx>
   ltt-control (U)

Michael Prokop <mika@xxxxxxxxxx>
   fai (U)

Michael Stapelberg <stapelberg@xxxxxxxxxx>
   freeradius (U)

Michael Vogt <mvo@xxxxxxxxxx>
   squid-deb-proxy

Michał Zając <quintasan@xxxxxxxxxxx>
   sddm (U)

Munin Debian Maintainers <packaging@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   munin

Nobuhiro Iwamatsu <iwamatsu@xxxxxxxxxx>
   slim

Norbert Tretkowski <norbert@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   mysql-5.7 (U)

Ondřej Surý <ondrej@xxxxxxxxxx>
   bird
   nsd (U)
   php7.0 (U)
   php7.1 (U)

Oxan van Leeuwen <oxan@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   postsrsd

Paul Tagliamonte <paultag@xxxxxxxxxx>
   docker.io (U)

Peter Eisentraut <petere@xxxxxxxxxx>
   anacron

Petter Reinholdtsen <pere@xxxxxxxxxx>
   startpar (U)

PKG OpenStack <openstack-devel@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   aodh
   barbican
   ceilometer
   cinder
   cobbler
   congress
   designate
   glance
   glare
   gnocchi
   heat
   ironic
   ironic-inspector
   magnum
   manila
   mistral
   murano
   murano-agent
   networking-l2gw
   networking-mlnx
   neutron
   neutron-dynamic-routing
   neutron-lbaas
   neutron-vpnaas
   nova
   openstack-trove
   python-oslo.messaging
   ryu
   sahara
   senlin
   watcher
   zaqar

pkg-go <pkg-go-maintainers@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   docker-registry

pkg-lxc <pkg-lxc-devel@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   lxcfs

Python Applications Packaging Team <python-apps-team@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   diamond (U)

resolvconf maintainers <resolvconf-devel@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   resolvconf

Richard B Winters <rik@xxxxxxxxx>
   corosync (U)

Robie Basak <robie@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   mysql-5.7 (U)

Roger A. Light <roger@xxxxxxxxxx>
   mosquitto

Roger Leigh <rleigh@xxxxxxxxxx>
   startpar (U)

Roman Fiedler <roman.fiedler@xxxxxxxxx>
   logdata-anomaly-miner

Ron Lee <ron@xxxxxxxxxx>
   tftp-hpa

Russ Allbery <rra@xxxxxxxxxx>
   lbcd

Sam Hartman <hartmans@xxxxxxxxxx>
   freeradius (U)

Sandro Tosi <morph@xxxxxxxxxx>
   diamond
   transmission

Serge Hallyn <serge.hallyn@xxxxxxxxxx>
   cgmanager

Stephen Gran <sgran@xxxxxxxxxx>
   freeradius (U)

Stig Sandbeck Mathisen <ssm@xxxxxxxxxx>
   munin (U)

syslog-ng maintainers <syslog-ng-maintainers@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   syslog-ng

SZALAY Attila <sasa@xxxxxxxxxx>
   syslog-ng (U)

Thomas Goirand <zigo@xxxxxxxxxx>
   aodh (U)
   barbican (U)
   ceilometer (U)
   cinder (U)
   cobbler (U)
   congress (U)
   designate (U)
   fuel-nailgun-agent
   glance (U)
   glare (U)
   gnocchi (U)
   heat (U)
   ironic (U)
   ironic-inspector (U)
   magnum (U)
   manila (U)
   mistral (U)
   murano (U)
   murano-agent (U)
   networking-l2gw (U)
   networking-mlnx (U)
   neutron (U)
   neutron-dynamic-routing (U)
   neutron-lbaas (U)
   neutron-vpnaas (U)
   nova (U)
   openstack-trove (U)
   python-oslo.messaging (U)
   ryu (U)
   sahara (U)
   senlin (U)
   startpar (U)
   watcher (U)
   zaqar (U)

Thomas Hood <jdthood@xxxxxxxxx>
   resolvconf (U)

Thomas Lange <lange@xxxxxxxxxx>
   fai

Tianon Gravi <tianon@xxxxxxxxxx>
   docker-registry (U)
   docker.io (U)
   golang-github-hashicorp-serf (U)
   rawdns (U)

Tim Potter <tpot@xxxxxxx>
   docker-registry (U)
   docker.io
   golang-github-hashicorp-serf (U)

Timo Aaltonen <tjaalton@xxxxxxxxxx>
   certmonger (U)

tony mancill <tmancill@xxxxxxxxxx>
   zookeeper (U)

Uditha Atukorala <ua@xxxxxxxxxx>
   bitz-server (U)

Vagrant Cascadian <vagrant@xxxxxxxxxx>
   ltsp (U)

Vincent Bernat <bernat@xxxxxxxxxx>
   exabgp

Vincent Cheng <vcheng@xxxxxxxxxx>
   bumblebee (U)

Wolodja Wentland <debian@xxxxxxxxxxxx>
   salt (U)

Xavier Guimard <x.guimard@xxxxxxx>
   lemonldap-ng (U)

Yunqiang Su <wzssyqa@xxxxxxxxx>
   bumblebee (U)

-- 
Regards,

Dimitri.