Web lists-archives.com

MBF: Multi-Arch: same violations




Hi,

I analyzed file conflicts in binary packages marked Multi-Arch: same. To
do that, I created a branch of https://dedup.debian.net/ specifically
for analyzing multiarchy features of packages. The resulting issues are
fed into tracker.d.o already, but little happens about them. File
conflicts in Multi-Arch: same packages are particularly annoying,
because they result in unpack errors and leave the system in a broken
state. We typically file bugs of severity serious for unpack errors, but
for multiarchy issues we tend to reduce that to important.

I attempted to reproduce all file conflicts using "apt-get install
pkg:arch1 pkg:arch2" in a clean sid chroot. I am only reporting those
that actually result in unpack errors.

Attached to this mail you can find a file "fail" with four columns:
 * a binary package name
 * a release architecture
 * a different release architecture
 * optionally an existing bug number

For each combination "apt-get install $1:$2 $1:$3" fails with an unpack
error. The corresponding dd-list is attached as well. Some bugs are
already filed (mostly by Jakub Wilk, thanks!), but still included in
both lists. Where the fourth column is non-empty, I won't file a new
bug.

Here is the bug template:

v v v v v
Package: $1
Severity: important
User: multiarch-devel@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Usertags: multiarch

$1 is marked Multi-Arch: same, but fails to coinstall with itself on $2
and $3. You can find a failing installation log attached. Please
consider removing the Multi-Arch: same header or declaring the relevant
architecture-qualified Conflicts.
^ ^ ^ ^ ^

These issues will become serious once multiarch is documented in policy.
I intend to create the bug reports in a week. Any objections?

Helmut
binutils-for-host amd64 arm64 #873387
claws-mail-perl-filter amd64 armel
freerdp2-dev amd64 arm64
libadios-dev amd64 arm64
libapophenia2-dev amd64 ppc64el
libbind-dev amd64 arm64
libc6 mipsel mips
libcext-dev amd64 armel
libcgicc-dev amd64 arm64
libclang1-3.8 amd64 arm64
libclang1-3.9 amd64 ppc64el
libclang1-4.0 amd64 ppc64el
libclang1-5.0 amd64 arm64
libclang1-6.0 amd64 arm64
libcolpack-dev amd64 arm64 #820311
libcurl4-gnutls-dev amd64 arm64
libcurl4-nss-dev amd64 arm64
libcurl4-openssl-dev amd64 arm64 #861974
libffcall1-dev amd64 armel #824725
libgtkhotkey-dev amd64 arm64
libhivex-dev amd64 mips64el
liblcmaps-without-gsi0 amd64 arm64
liblirc-dev amd64 arm64
liblttng-ust-dev amd64 arm64 #687460
libmaxminddb0 amd64 arm64
libmongoclient-dev amd64 mips
libopencc2 amd64 armel
libossp-uuid-dev amd64 arm64 #757278
libpugixml-dev amd64 arm64
libreadline-gplv2-dev amd64 arm64 #707750
libsane-dev amd64 arm64
libsquish-dev amd64 armel
libstarlink-ast-dev amd64 armel
libtomcrypt-dev amd64 arm64 #761627
libudunits2-0 amd64 arm64
python-z3 amd64 arm64
Adam Conrad <adconrad@xxxxxxx>
   glibc (U)

Alastair McKinstry <mckinstry@xxxxxxxxxx>
   adios
   udunits

Alec Leamas <leamas.alec@xxxxxxxxx>
   lirc (U)

Alessandro Ghedini <ghedo@xxxxxxxxxx>
   curl

Apollon Oikonomopoulos <apoikos@xxxxxxxxxx>
   mongo-cxx-driver-legacy (U)

Aron Xu <aron@xxxxxxxxxx>
   opencc (U)

Asias He <asias@xxxxxxxxxx>
   opencc (U)

Aurelien Jarno <aurel32@xxxxxxxxxx>
   glibc (U)

Barak A. Pearlmutter <bap@xxxxxxxxxx>
   colpack (U)

Bernhard Miklautz <bernhard.miklautz@xxxxxxxxxxx>
   freerdp2 (U)

Chris Butler <chrisb@xxxxxxxxxx>
   libcgicc

Christoph Egger <christoph@xxxxxxxxxx>
   ffcall

Clint Adams <clint@xxxxxxxxxx>
   glibc (U)

Debian Astro Team <debian-astro-maintainers@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   starlink-ast

Debian Astronomy Maintainers <debian-astro-maintainers@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   cpl

Debian Libvirt Maintainers <pkg-libvirt-maintainers@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   hivex

Debian MongoDB Maintainers <pkg-mongodb-maintainers@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   mongo-cxx-driver-legacy

Debian QA Group <packages@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   readline5

Debian Remote Maintainers <pkg-remote-team@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   freerdp2

Debian Science Maintainers <debian-science-maintainers@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   apophenia
   colpack

Dennis van Dok <dennisvd@xxxxxxxxx>
   lcmaps

Faidon Liambotis <paravoid@xxxxxxxxxx>
   libmaxminddb

Giulio Paci <giuliopaci@xxxxxxxxx>
   mongo-cxx-driver-legacy (U)

GNU Libc Maintainers <debian-glibc@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   glibc

Hilko Bengen <bengen@xxxxxxxxxx>
   hivex (U)

Ian Jackson <ijackson@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   curl (U)

IME Packaging Team <pkg-ime-devel@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   opencc

James Troup <binutils@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   binutils (U)

Jerome Benoit <calculus@xxxxxxxxxxx>
   apophenia (U)

Jon Bernard <jbernard@xxxxxxxxxx>
   ust

Jonas Smedegaard <dr@xxxxxxxx>
   pugixml (U)

Jörg Frings-Fürst <debian@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   sane-backends

LaMont Jones <lamont@xxxxxxxxxx>
   bind9

Laszlo Boszormenyi (GCS) <gcs@xxxxxxxxxx>
   mongo-cxx-driver-legacy (U)

LI Daobing <lidaobing@xxxxxxxxxx>
   opencc (U)

lirc Maintainer Team <pkg-lirc-maint@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   lirc

LLVM Packaging Team <pkg-llvm-team@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   llvm-toolchain-3.8
   llvm-toolchain-3.9
   llvm-toolchain-4.0
   llvm-toolchain-5.0
   llvm-toolchain-snapshot

Marco Nenciarini <mnencia@xxxxxxxxxx>
   ossp-uuid

Matthias Klose <doko@xxxxxxxxxx>
   binutils

Michael Gilbert <mgilbert@xxxxxxxxxx>
   bind9 (U)

Michael Jeanson <mjeanson@xxxxxxxxxx>
   ust (U)

Michael Stapelberg <stapelberg@xxxxxxxxxx>
   libtomcrypt

Michael Tautschnig <mt@xxxxxxxxxx>
   z3

Mike Gabriel <sunweaver@xxxxxxxxxx>
   freerdp2 (U)

Mischa Salle <msalle@xxxxxxxxx>
   lcmaps (U)

Nobuhiro Iwamatsu <iwamatsu@xxxxxxxxxx>
   gtkhotkey

Ole Streicher <olebole@xxxxxxxxxx>
   cpl (U)
   starlink-ast (U)

Osamu Aoki <osamu@xxxxxxxxxx>
   opencc (U)

Ricardo Mones <mones@xxxxxxxxxx>
   claws-mail

Robie Basak <robie.basak@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   bind9 (U)

Samuel Thibault <sthibault@xxxxxxxxxx>
   glibc (U)

Stefan Lippers-Hollmann <s.l-h@xxxxxx>
   lirc (U)

Sylvestre Ledru <sylvestre@xxxxxxxxxx>
   llvm-toolchain-3.8 (U)
   llvm-toolchain-3.9 (U)
   llvm-toolchain-4.0 (U)
   llvm-toolchain-5.0 (U)
   llvm-toolchain-snapshot (U)

Vasudev Kamath <vasudev@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
   pugixml

Wookey <wookey@xxxxxxxxxx>
   libsquish

YunQiang Su <wzssyqa@xxxxxxxxx>
   opencc (U)