Web lists-archives.com

Re: Post-stretch mass bug filing: build-depending on automake1.11




Hi Simon,

* Simon McVittie (smcv@xxxxxxxxxx) wrote:
> Most packages in Debian that run autoreconf currently build-depend
> directly or indirectly on automake (version 1.14.1 in jessie, released
> 2013; version 1.15 in stretch/sid, released in 2015). However, 58
> packages in sid still build with automake1.11, released in 2009. This
> doesn't seem desirable for buster.
>
> I am *not* planning to report these bugs as RC, unless the release team
> or the automake1.11 maintainer want to remove automake1.11 from
> buster entirely (if so, please let me know).

Thanks for looking at this! As I've done a few times in the past I was
also planning to do a mass bug filing to remove automake1.11. I don't
think it rises to the level of RC but it would still be great to get
it all fixed up for buster. Usually posting patches and a few NMUs are
enough to move things along.

You're very welcome to kicking off the mass bug filing if you're
interested though :)

> Most of the packages that I've glanced at so far seem to have moved
> from an ancient version (often automake1.4 or automake1.9) to 1.11.
> In the past, Automake had a tendency to break compatibility
> between minor releases, making it desirable to lock the build system
> to the specific version that upstream used. However, recent versions
> have been queueing up incompatible changes for 2.0 instead (as
> described in the Automake 1.14 release notes,
> <https://lists.gnu.org/archive/html/info-gnu/2013-06/msg00009.html>)
> so maybe many of these packages can track 1.x indefinitely?
> 
> A dd-list follows, generated by:
> 
> grep-dctrl -FBuild-Depends,Build-Depends-Arch,Build-Depends-Indep \
>     automake1.11 \
>     /var/lib/apt/lists/deb.debian.org_debian_dists_sid_*_source_Sources \
>     | dd-list --dctrl
> 
> Nothing seems to have a runtime dependency on automake1.11, at least
> not on amd64 or i386. A couple of these packages build-depend on
> automake (>= 1.11) | automake1.11, but to be honest they'd probably be
> better off with just automake (>= 1.11) anyway, so I haven't filtered
> those out.
> 
> Regards,
>     S
> 
> ---- dd-list of affected packages ----
> 
> Adrian Knoth <adi@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
>    jack-audio-connection-kit (U)
> 
> Andrew Lee (李健秋) <ajqlee@xxxxxxxxxx>
>    scim-chewing (U)
> 
> Andy Spencer <andy753421@xxxxxxxxx>
>    aweather (U)
> 
> Anibal Monsalve Salazar <anibal@xxxxxxxxxx>
>    libnfsidmap
> 
> Barry deFreese <bdefreese@xxxxxxxxxx>
>    qonk (U)
> 
> Ben Armstrong <synrg@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
>    xpilot-ng
> 
> Bill Allombert <ballombe@xxxxxxxxxx>
>    libjpeg6b
>    libjpeg8
> 
> ChangZhuo Chen (陳昌倬) <czchen@xxxxxxxxxx>
>    scim-chewing (U)
> 
> Christoph Egger <christoph@xxxxxxxxxx>
>    warzone2100 (U)
> 
> Chrysostomos Nanakos <cnanakos@xxxxxxxxxx>
>    tcpstat
> 
> Chuan-kai Lin <cklin@xxxxxxxxxx>
>    fam
> 
> Clément Stenac <zorglub@xxxxxxxxxx>
>    madplay (U)
> 
> Debian Accessibility Team <debian-accessibility@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
>    svox
> 
> Debian Games Team <pkg-games-devel@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
>    qonk
>    warzone2100
> 
> Debian Gauche Maintainers <pkg-gauche-devel@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
>    gauche
> 
> Debian GCC Maintainers <debian-gcc@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
>    cloog-ppl
> 
> Debian Med Packaging Team <debian-med-packaging@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
>    trinityrnaseq
> 
> Debian Multimedia Maintainers <pkg-multimedia-maintainers@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
>    icecast2
>    jack-audio-connection-kit
>    libshout
>    pd-iemmatrix
>    unicap
> 
> Debian OCaml Maintainers <debian-ocaml-maint@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
>    cairo-ocaml
> 
> Debian PHP Maintainers <pkg-php-maint@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
>    php7.0
>    php7.1
> 
> Debian Printing Team <debian-printing@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
>    ijs
> 
> Debian QA Group <packages@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
>    agg
>    aumix
> 
> Debian Science Maintainers <debian-science-maintainers@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
>    ann
>    aweather
>    lhapdf
> 
> Debian Science Team <debian-science-maintainers@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
>    freefem3d
> 
> Debian XMPP Maintainers <pkg-xmpp-devel@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
>    gsasl
> 
> Emanuele Rocca <ema@xxxxxxxxxx>
>    urlview
> 
> Florian Maier <contact@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
>    smartmontools (U)
> 
> Free Ekanayaka <freee@xxxxxxxxxx>
>    jack-audio-connection-kit (U)
> 
> Giacomo Catenazzi <cate@xxxxxxxxxx>
>    g15mpd
>    libg15render
> 
> Giulio Paci <giuliopaci@xxxxxxxxx>
>    basilisk2 (U)
> 
> Giuseppe Iuculano <iuculano@xxxxxxxxxx>
>    smartmontools
> 
> Guillaume Pellerin <yomguy@xxxxxxxxxx>
>    icecast2 (U)
>    libshout (U)
> 
> Hakan Ardo <hakan@xxxxxxxxxx>
>    avr-libc
>    gcc-avr
> 
> HIGUCHI Daisuke (VDR dai) <dai@xxxxxxxxxx>
>    uim
> 
> IME Packaging Team <pkg-ime-devel@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
>    scim-chewing
> 
> IOhannes m zmölnig (Debian/GNU) <umlaeute@xxxxxxxxxx>
>    pd-iemmatrix (U)
> 
> Jens Thiele <karme@xxxxxxxx>
>    gauche (U)
> 
> Jonas Smedegaard <dr@xxxxxxxx>
>    basilisk2
>    cstream
>    icecast2 (U)
>    ijs (U)
>    jack-audio-connection-kit (U)
>    kannel-sqlbox
>    libshout (U)
>    pd-iemmatrix (U)
>    unicap (U)
> 
> Jonathan Dowland <jmtd@xxxxxxxxxx>
>    smartmontools (U)
> 
> Jordà Polo <jorda@xxxxxxxxx>
>    exult
> 
> Jorge Salamero Sanz <bencer@xxxxxxxxxx>
>    gsasl (U)
> 
> Jose Luis Tallon <jltallon@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
>    libsieve
> 
> Junichi Uekawa <dancer@xxxxxxxxxx>
>    jack-audio-connection-kit (U)
> 
> Jérémy Lal <kapouer@xxxxxxxxx>
>    basilisk2 (U)
> 
> Kiwamu Okabe <kiwamu@xxxxxxxxxxxx>
>    uim (U)
> 
> Kurt Roeckx <kurt@xxxxxxxxx>
>    madplay (U)
> 
> Lifeng Sun <lifongsun@xxxxxxxxx>
>    lhapdf (U)
> 
> Lior Kaplan <kaplan@xxxxxxxxxx>
>    php7.0 (U)
>    php7.1 (U)
> 
> Luca Bruno <lucab@xxxxxxxxxx>
>    openocd (U)
> 
> Mad Maintainers <pkg-mad-maintainers@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
>    madplay
> 
> Martín Ferrari <tincho@xxxxxxxxxx>
>    qonk (U)
> 
> Marvin Stark <marv@xxxxxxxxxxx>
>    syrep
> 
> Mathieu Parent <sathieu@xxxxxxxxxx>
>    svox (U)
> 
> Matthias Klose <doko@xxxxxxxxxx>
>    cloog-ppl (U)
> 
> Michael Banck <mbanck@xxxxxxxxxx>
>    exult (U)
> 
> Michael R. Crusoe <crusoe@xxxxxxxxxxx>
>    trinityrnaseq (U)
> 
> Michael Tautschnig <mt@xxxxxxxxxx>
>    cloog-ppl (U)
>    diagnostics
> 
> NIIBE Yutaka <gniibe@xxxxxxxx>
>    gauche (U)
> 
> Nobuhiro Iwamatsu <iwamatsu@xxxxxxxxxx>
>    uim (U)
> 
> OHASHI Akira <bg66@xxxxxxxxxx>
>    liece
> 
> Ondřej Surý <ondrej@xxxxxxxxxx>
>    php7.0 (U)
>    php7.1 (U)
> 
> Paul Wise <pabs@xxxxxxxxxx>
>    warzone2100 (U)
> 
> Peter Eisentraut <petere@xxxxxxxxxx>
>    source-highlight
> 
> Phil Brooke <pjb@xxxxxxxxxx>
>    xpilot-ng (U)
> 
> Philipp Kern <pkern@xxxxxxxxxx>
>    hercules
> 
> Reinhard Tartler <siretart@xxxxxxxxxx>
>    jack-audio-connection-kit (U)
> 
> Rene Engelhard <rene@xxxxxxxxxx>
>    muttprint
> 
> Romain Beauxis <toots@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
>    cwiid
>    icecast2 (U)
>    libshout (U)
> 
> Roman Haefeli <reduzent@xxxxxxxxx>
>    pd-iemmatrix (U)
> 
> Rudy Godoy <rudy@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
>    torcs
> 
> Sam Clegg <samo@xxxxxxxxxx>
>    madplay (U)
> 
> Samuel Mimram <smimram@xxxxxxxxxx>
>    cairo-ocaml (U)
> 
> Samuel Thibault <sthibault@xxxxxxxxxx>
>    svox (U)
> 
> Simon Josefsson <simon@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
>    gsasl (U)
> 
> Stephen Kitt <skitt@xxxxxxxxxx>
>    basilisk2 (U)
> 
> Steve M. Robbins <smr@xxxxxxxxxx>
>    nyquist
> 
> Stéphane Glondu <glondu@xxxxxxxxxx>
>    cairo-ocaml (U)
> 
> Teemu Ikonen <tpikonen@xxxxxxxxx>
>    ann (U)
> 
> Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo <cascardo@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
>    gsasl (U)
> 
> Tim Retout <diocles@xxxxxxxxxx>
>    enscript
> 
> Tomas Pospisek <tpo_deb@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
>    mailsync
> 
> Unit 193 <unit193@xxxxxxxxxx>
>    icecast2 (U)
> 
> Uwe Hermann <uwe@xxxxxxxxxx>
>    openocd
> 
> Vincent Cheng <vcheng@xxxxxxxxxx>
>    conky
>    dbus-c++
> 
> Willi Mann <willi@xxxxxxxxxx>
>    squidview
> 
> YAEGASHI Takeshi <yaegashi@xxxxxxxxxx>
>    gauche (U)
> 
> Yaroslav Halchenko <debian@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
>    qwo
> 
> Ying-Chun Liu <grandpaul@xxxxxxxxx>
>    libshout (U)

-- 
Eric Dorland <eric@xxxxxxxxxxx>
43CF 1228 F726 FD5B 474C  E962 C256 FBD5 0022 1E93

Attachment: signature.asc
Description: PGP signature